Algo pasa que no pasa nada

(2018) for chamber orchestra, electric guitar & electronics

Commissioned by and composed during the Arturo Márquez Extraordinary Fellowship in Music Composition 2018, of the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM), and premiered at the University Museum of Contemporary Art (MUAC), in commemoration for the 50 years of the student movement in Mexico and the Tlatelolco massacre of 1968.

program note: “Fosas”, the first movement, is dedicated to the 43 forcefully disappeared students of Ayotzinapa and inspired on the impunity, cynicism and state violence in Mexico.

The second movement, “Revuelta de voces”, is inspired by the difference in ideals between the students and the Mexican government. For this movement I processed and manipulated audios from secretary of state, Luis Echeverría, president Gustavo Díaz Ordaz, and several members of the student movement of 68.

The last movement, “Volcánica”, is inspired by the Iztaccíhuatl and Popocatépetl volcanoes, symbols of strength and hope, as depicted by Antonio Velasco Piña in his novel “Regina”.

premiere: 22/09/18, University Museum of Contemporary Art (MUAC), UNAM, Mexico City, (MX)

director: Christian Gohmer


live performance:

Deja un comentario